Integration and follow-up services after hiring and intervention aimed at maintaining employment.

Services

Our approach | Our method | Our services

A complete and personalized approach

The services of L’ETAPE are addressed to persons having a [1] physical or sensorial functional disability who live on Montreal Island. Our services are offered in French and in English. For deaf and hard-of-hearing persons, we communicate in sign language (LSQ/ASL) and the oral technique. The integration of persons having a functional disability takes place in different sectors : manufacturing, public and parapublic, non-traditional trades and the new technologies, etc.

Each year, at L’ÉTAPE, more than 230 persons participate in our activities. More than 75% of these persons develop their employability and in this way, integrate the labour market.

The services are entirely free.

[1] Any person having a deficiency bringing about a significant and persistent incapacity and who is subject to meet obstacles in the accomplishment of everyday activities.

The services of L’ÉTAPE are subsidized by Emploi-Québec.


Our Method

L’ÉTAPE MONTREAL : YOUR PARTNER TOWARDS EMPLOYMENT

  • Personalized approach adapted to your needs.
  • Evaluation of employability.
  • Setting up of a file (medical certificate, analysis of qualifications, personal aptitudes, audiogram, etc.).
  • Professional assessment.
  • Personalized action plan.
  • Individual and group counselling.
  • Workshops: self-knowledge, demystification of the handicap, preparation of the curriculum vitae, knowledge of the labour market, phone contacts, interviewing techniques, group interaction, documentation centre and Internet, etc.
  • Introduction to employers (adaptation of the work positions, negotiation for programs of governmental subsidies, etc.)
  • Employment.
  • Follow-up after hiring (intervention for the maintaining of employment).

Our integration and maintaining of employment services

By an integration service one must understand the entire process furthering the development of employability and, ultimately, the obtaining of financial autonomy.

The services offered by the employment counsellors are basically focused on the individual needs. The relationship of help as well as the plan of action are only elaborated upon after a solid evaluation of the employability situation, taking into account among other things : the process of the appearance of the disability, the residual abilities, the level of academic training, the work experience, the paraprofessional experience, the financial situation and other pertinent factors. Furthermore, an important part of the counsellor’s work is to guide, to direct and finally to help the seeker in his approaches.

The establishment of the profile of development of the participant’s employability thus allows the elaboration of an individualized plan of intervention. It is therefore at this stage that the counsellor undertakes with the person having a functional disability the necessary steps in order to respond to the needs of this latter. It is also at this stage that he will establish the co-operation with partners such as : rehabilitation centres, local centres of employment (CLE), school commissions, association milieu, etc.

 

Return to the top of the page

Service d’intégration et de maintien en emploi pour personnes ayant une limitation fonctionnelle physique ou sensorielle.

Services

Notre approche | Notre méthode | Nos services

Une approche complète et personnalisée

Les services de L’ÉTAPE s’adressent aux personnes ayant une limitation fonctionnelle [1] physique ou sensorielle qui habitent l’Île de Montréal. Nos services sont offerts en français et en anglais. Pour les personnes sourdes ou malentendantes, nous communiquons en langage gestuel (LSQ/ASL) et technique oraliste. L’intégration des personnes ayant une limitation fonctionnelle se fait dans différents secteurs : manufacturier, public et parapublic, les métiers non traditionnels et les nouvelles technologies, etc.

Chaque année, à L’ÉTAPE, plus de 230 personnes participent à nos activités. Plus de 75% de ces personnes développent leur employabilité et intègrent ainsi le marché du travail.

Les services sont entièrement gratuits.

[1] Toute personne ayant une déficience entraînant une incapacité significative et persistante et qui est sujette à rencontrer des obstacles dans l’accomplissement d’activités courantes.

Les services de L’ÉTAPE sont subventionnés par 


Notre méthode

  • Approche personnalisée et adaptée à vos besoins.
  • Évaluation de l’employabilité.
  • Constitution d’un dossier (certificat médical, analyse des qualifications, des aptitudes personnelles, etc.).
  • Bilan professionnel.
  • Plan d’action personnalisé.
  • Counselling individuel et de groupe.
  • Ateliers : connaissance de soi, démystification de l’handicap, préparation du curriculum vitae, connaissance du marché du travail, contacts téléphoniques, techniques d’entrevue, interaction de groupe, centre de documentation et Internet, etc.
  • Présentation aux employeurs (adaptation de postes de travail, négociation de programmes de subventions gouvernementales, etc.).
  • Placements.
  • Suivi après l’embauche (intervention pour le maintien à l’emploi).

Nos services d’intégration et de maintien en emploi

Par service d’intégration, il faut entendre le processus global favorisant le développement de l’employabilité et ultimement, l’obtention de l’autonomie financière.

Les services offerts par les conseillers en emploi sont centrés essentiellement sur les besoins individuels. La relation d’aide ainsi que le plan d’action sont élaborés seulement après une solide évaluation de la situation d’employabilité, tenant compte entre autres : du processus d’apparition de la limitation, des capacités résiduelles, du niveau de formation académique, de l’expérience de travail, de l’expérience para-professionnelle, de la situation financière et d’autres facteurs pertinents. De plus, une part importante du travail du conseiller est de guider, d’orienter et finalement, d’aider le chercheur dans ses démarches.

L’établissement du profil de développement de l’employabilité du participant permet ainsi l’élaboration d’un plan d’intervention individualisé. C’est donc, à ce stade que le conseiller entreprendra avec la personne ayant une limitation fonctionnelle, les démarches nécessaires afin de répondre aux besoins de cette dernière. C’est également à ce stade qu’il établira la collaboration avec des partenaires tels que : centres de réadaptation, centres locaux d’emploi (CLE), commissions scolaires, les milieux associatifs, etc.

Return to the top of the page